This is frequently asked

FAQs

Extraction systems
Why the air valves have to be replaced regularly?

The new, improved air valve combines valve and filter functions. As usual, ventilation occurs during removal; harmful solvent vapors are blocked. At the same time, the valve membrane absorbs dust and contaminant particles from the incoming air. Since the filter membrane is in contact with solvent vapors, is heavily used through mechanical operation (opening and closing) and absorbs contaminants from the surrounding air, it is recommended that the valve be replaced every 6 months in order to ensure flawless operation.

Can overpressure accrue in a reservoir container with SafetyCap?

No. In this case the valve unblocks automatically in the opposite. For further smooth operation the air valve has to be renewed.

Different colors of air valves?

The red air valve is specially designed for preparative HPLC operation and easily delivers supply amount of up to 400 ml/min (Blue air valve up to 150 ml/min, Orange air valve 150 ml/min and its also made from fire resistant material).

Waste systems
Replace the exhaust filter - why?

Exhaust filters are permanently exposed to vapours, dust particles and pollutants. Exchange saturated filters within their service life to maintain your workspace safety. The filtes are available in different sizes. Filter with size S have to be replaced after 3 months, Filters with size M after 6 months and L after 9 months.

Safety funnels
Not all of the funnels have a hinged lid - why?

Funnels without a hinged lid have an integrated ball valve which floats and closes automatically after filling the funnel with liquid waste.

Funnels in black and white?

Funnels in black are made from electrical conductive plastic and are delivered with an grounding clamp.

Level control
Different sensors of level control?

Disc sensor: Fill level detection without touching the content of the container. The sensitivity of the sensor can be adjusted to different wall strengths. The signal box emits an optical and acoustic signal before a previously set fill height is reached. Suitable for all containers made of glass and non-conductive plastic. Just connect the sensor to the container wall at the desired fill level (fastening material is included with delivery), connect mains plug – done. No technical modifications to the receptacle are required.

SafetyWasteCap: For containers made of ­conductive plastic or metal, the level control can be ­accomplished through the ­closure. SafetyWasteCaps with electronic level control can be connected to our signal boxes.

Laboratory installation
When Laboratory installation elements have to be renewed?

Components have to be tested regularly by the user and replaced if necessary. Tubes have to be renewed at the latest after 2 years.

Container
Which size of thread has my container?

S.C.A.T. safety closures are available for a wide range of ­different container threads. In category containers, you will find the suitable containers for every thread size. In the category of Waste systems you will find suitable SafetyWasteCaps for your containers.

If you wish to use already available containers, we are ­providing you with an aid in determining thread size here.

Accessories
Fittings of earlier generations are suitable with new SafetyCaps?

Yes! Accessorie from S.C.A.T. Europe can be used generation-seamless. All products of our system are compatible among themselves.

General questions
Chemical compatibility to products

Due to the wide variety and the different compositions of solvents and substances available on the market, we can assume no guarantee for chemical compatibility. The materials with the best resistance according to the most up-to-date knowledge have been selected for S.C.A.T. products with particular consideration of the requirements for working with aggressive fluids.

You may obtain information regarding compatibility with specific substances from the manufacturer of your chemicals or other expert sources.

We would be pleased to offer you consultation during selection of suitable products for your application. The responsibility for the selection of the chemicals used lies with the end user. S.C.A.T. Europe offers no guarantee for the results and assumes no obligation or liability concerning the use of these products as regards their chemical compatibility, or abrasive effects.

There are new GHS labels?

At January 20, 2009 the regulation (EC) No. 1272/2008 – CLP-regulation – became effective. It regulates the classification, labeling and packaging of substances and mixtures (Regulation on classification, labeling and packaging of substances and mixtures, short CLP) and replace the European regulation 67/548/EEC and the Dangerous Preparations Directive 1999/45/EC from 2015 completely.

The CLP Regulation is based on the recommendation of the UN, which dates back to the 1992 Sustainability Conference in Rio de Janeiro, to establish a global corporate system for classification and labeling of chemicals (Global Harmonized System, UN GHS). This represents a compromise by established systems primarily in North America, the EU and the regulation for dangerous goods.

More informations at www.unece.org

Guarantee?

A rigorous quality control ensures that you will receive high quality products without defects from us. If a product should nonetheless prove to be defective, as a matter of course you will receive a cost-free replacement. Because technically demanding components are dealt with, we can offer no guarantee for articles which are technically altered or damaged by the user. Because it is the responsibility of the user to examine the technical suitability of the desired article, the same applies for specially manufactured articles which are produced according to customer specifications. We accept no liability for events or accidents emerging from improper handling or technical modification of our products by the user.

Cookies help us in providing our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies. more info

Got it!

Das werden wir oft gefragt

FAQs

Entnahmesysteme
Warum muss das Belüftungsventil regelmäßig erneuert werden?

Das neue, verbesserte Belüftungsventil vereint Ventil- und Filterfunktion. Wie gewohnt erfolgt eine Belüftung während der Entnahme, schädliche Lösungsmitteldämpfe werden blockiert. Gleichzeitig hält die Ventilmembran Staub- und Schmutzpartikel aus der nachströmenden Luft zurück. Da die Filtermembran in Kontakt mit Lösungsmitteldämpfen steht, durch die mechanischen Vorgänge (Öffnen und Schließen) stark beansprucht ist und Verunreinigungen aus der Umgebungsluft aufnimmt, ist ein Austausch des Ventils alle 6 Monate notwendig, um einen reibungslosen Betrieb und Dichtigkeit zu gewährleisten.

Kann Überdruck in einem Vorratsbehälter mit SafetyCap entstehen?

Nein. Das Ventil öffnet in diesem Fall automatisch in die entgegengesetzte Richtung. Für den weiteren reibungslosen Betrieb ist das Belüftungsventil zu erneuern.

Unterschiedliche Farben des Belüftungsventils?

Das rote Belüftungsventil ist speziell für den präparativen HPLC-Betrieb ausgelegt und erlaubt problemlos Fördermengen von bis zu 400 ml pro Minute (blaues Belüftungsventil bis zu 150 ml pro Minute, orangefarbenes Belüftungsventil bis zu 150 ml pro Minute und zusätzlich aus feuerhemmendem Material).

Abfallsysteme
Abluftfilter erneuern - warum und wann?

Die Filter nehmen permanent Lösungsmitteldämpfe, Staubpartikel und Verschmutzungen auf. Tauschen Sie daher verbrauchte Filter rechtzeitig vor der Überschreitung der Nutzungsdauer. Abluftfilter sind in verschiedenen Größen verfügbar. Filter der Größe S sind nach 3 Monaten zu erneuern, Filter der Größe M nach 6 Monaten und L nach 9 Monaten.

Sicherheitstrichter
Warum gibt es Trichter mit und ohne Deckel?

Trichter ohne Deckel sind mit einem Kugelventil ausgestattet, das Kugelventil schwimmt und schließt automatisch nach dem Befüllen.

Trichter in weiß und schwarz?

Modelle in schwarz sind elektrisch leitfähig und werden mit einer Erdungsklemme geliefert.

Füllstandskontrolle
Verschiedene Füllstandssensoren?

Scheibensensor: Füllstandserkennung ohne Berührung mit dem Inhalt des Behälters. Die Empfindlichkeit des Scheibensensors ist einstellbar für verschiedene Wandstärken. Die Signalbox meldet das Erreichen der voher bestimmten Füllhöhe optisch und akustisch. Geeignet für alle Behälter aus Glas und nicht leitfähigem Kunststoff. Einfach den Sensor in der gewünschten Füllhöhe an der Behälterwand anbringen (Befestigungsmaterial wird mitgeliefert), Signalbox anschließen – fertig. Es sind keine technischen Veränderungen am Gefäß notwendig.

SafetyWasteCap: Bei Behältern aus leitfähigem Kunststoff oder Metall kann die Füllstandskontrolle über den Verschluss erfolgen. SafetyWasteCaps mit elektronischer Füllstandskontrolle können an unsere Signalboxen angeschlossen werden.

Laboreinbau
Wann müssen Laboreinbau-Bauteile erneuert werden?

Bauteile sind regelmäßig vom Anwender zu prüfen und nach Notwendigkeit zu tauschen. Schläuche sind spätestens nach 2 Jahren zu erneuern.

Behälter
Welches Gewinde hat mein Behälter?

S.C.A.T. Sicherheitsverschlüsse sind für eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Behältergewinde verfügbar. In der Kategorie Behälter finden Sie passende Behälter zu jeder Gewindegröße. In der Kategorie Abfallsysteme finden Sie die passenden SafetyWasteCaps für Ihre Behälter.

Falls Sie bereits vorhandene Behälter verwenden möchten, geben wir Ihnen hier eine Hilfe zur Bestimmung der Gewindegröße.

Zubehör
Passen meine "alten" Fittings auf neue Kappen?

Ja! S.C.A.T. Europe Zubehör ist generationenübergreifend einsetzbar, alle Produkte aus unserem Sicherheitssystem sind  miteinander kompatibel.

Allgemeine Fragen
Chemische Verträglichkeit der Produkte?

Aufgrund der Vielfalt und der unterschiedlichen Zusammensetzung der im Handel befindlichen Lösungsmittel und Substanzen können wir keine Garantie für die chemische Verträglichkeit übernehmen. Für S.C.A.T. Produkte wurden die nach neuesten Erkenntnissen beständigsten Materialien ausgewählt, unter besonderer Beachtung der Anforderungen bei der Arbeit mit aggressiven Flüssigkeiten.

Informationen zur Verträglichkeit mit bestimmten Substanzen erhalten Sie vom Hersteller Ihrer Chemikalien oder aus anderen Fachquellen.

Gerne beraten wir Sie bei der Auswahl des geeigneten Produktes für Ihre Anwendung. Die Verantwortung für die Auswahl der verwendeten Chemikalien liegt beim Endnutzer. S.C.A.T. Europe gibt keine Garantie für die Ergebnisse und übernimmt keine Verpflichtung oder Haftung bezüglich der Verwendung dieser Erzeugnisse hinsichtlich ihrer chemischen Kompatibilität, oder abrasiven Effekten.

Es gibt neue GHS-Symbole?

Am 20. Januar 2009 trat die Verordnung (EG) Nr. 1272/2008 – CLP-Verordnung – in Kraft. Sie regelt die Einstufung, Kennzeichnung und Verpackung von Stoffen und Gemischen (Regulation on classification, labelling and packaging of substances and mixtures, kurz CLP) und ersetzt die europäische Stoffrichtlinie 67/548/EWG sowie die Zubereitungsrichtlinie 1999/45/EG ab 2015 vollständig.

Die CLP-Verordnung basiert auf der Empfehlung der UN, die auf die Nachhaltigkeitskonferenz von 1992 in Rio de Janeiro zurückgeht, weltweit ein einheitliches System zur Einstufung und Kennzeichnung von Chemikalien einzuführen (Globales Harmonisiertes System, UN-GHS). Dieses stellt einen Kompromiss aus etablierten Systemen vorrangig Nordamerikas, der EU und dem Gefahrengutrecht dar.

Quelle: Bundesanstalt für Arbeitsschutz und Arbeitsmedizin (BAuA)

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter www.unece.org

Gewährleistung?

Eine strenge Qualitätskontrolle stellt sicher, dass Sie einwandfreie und hochwertige Produkte von uns erhalten. Sollte ein Produkt trotzdem fehlerhaft sein, so erhalten Sie selbstverständlich kostenlosen Ersatz. Da es sich um technisch anspruchsvolle Bauteile handelt, können wir für durch den Anwender technisch veränderte oder beschädigte Artikel leider keine Garantie leisten. Gleiches gilt für Sonderanfertigungen, die gemäß den Vorgaben unserer Kunden hergestellt wurden, da es in der Verantwortung des Anwenders liegt, die technische Eignung der gewünschten Anfertigungen zu prüfen. Für Ereignisse oder Unfälle, die aus einer unsachgemäßen Handhabung oder technischen Veränderung unserer Produkte durch den Anwender hervorgehen, übernehmen wir keine Haftung.